The story of how the Queens Own Cameron Highlanders War Memorial Boys Club was built is almost certainly unique in Scotland and possibly the United Kingdom. At the end of the Second World War the Cameron Highlanders decided to build a living war memorial which would be of lasting benefit to future generations and so the first boy’s club in the Highlands was born.
The building was officially opened on the 6th August 1953 by the Queen Mother.
The Duke of Edinburgh is th Patron and visited the club in 1954 and thereafter the club was used as a testing ground for what became the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme with many of the boys proceeding to the gold standard.
The driving force in the formation of the Club was Major General Angus Collier who chaired the first Management Committee and who was very much the man who made the dream come true.
Several of the members who joined the club in 1953 have maintained their connection with the Club and now serve on the Management Committee. The entrance to the building is via the memorial hall which has a commemorative panel depicting the Regimental Battle Honours and campaigns over the years.
It was in the early 1970′s that girls joined the Club and the title changed from Boy’s club to Youth Club but sill very much a living war memorial. In reality we are now more a community centre but you can read of our activities in the pages that follow.